Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC)

/Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC)

About the Institutional Ethics Committee

Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) at Punjab Institute of Medical Sciences, Jalandhar is established to emphasize the commitment of the Institute to the high scientific and ethical standard. It ensures protections of the rights and welfare of human participants in biomedical research in accordance with ICMR ethical guidelines. It is registered with The Central Licensing Authority vide Regd. No. ECR/1413/Inst/PB/2020.

Objectives of IEC

  • To ensure the highest scientific and ethical standards of research.
  • To review and approve proposals for basic and clinical research projects.
  • To provide advice in case of ethical dilemmas.
  • To revise the SOPs periodically.
  • To create awareness by conducting seminars and workshops amongst hospital faculty and staff regarding ethical aspects of clinical practice and research.

IEC Committee

Sr. No. Name Designation & Department  
1. Dr. Sandeep Kaushal Dean Academic, DMC, Ludhiana Chairperson
2. Dr. Jagminder Kaur Bajaj Professor & Head, Pharmacology Member Secretary
3. Dr. Harmesh Singh Bains Professor & Head, Pediatrics Member
4. Dr. Tania Maudgil Professor, Ophthalmology Member
5. Dr. Megha Sood Professor, Pharmacology Member
6. Dr. Bavneet Kaur Dang Associate Professor, Medicine Member
7. S. Inderjit Singh Bhatia Advocate Member
8. Mr. Harbans Lal Gagneja Ethicist Member
9. Mrs. Perminder Berry Socially Aware Member
10. Mr. Simrat Pal Singh Layman Member